Get Involved

Property Owner Responsibilities

If you own property, it is your responsibility as a citizen to take an interest in your property and be aware of any changes such as repairs, fire damage, improvements, or new construction that may cause a decrease or increase in value. When such a change occurs you must notify the Assessor’s office so a new valuation can be determined. According to law, the value of your property cannot increase more than 6.1% over a two-year period of time if your property does not change ownership or no new construction has been performed.

Property Values

The Assessor’s Office establishes property values as of January 1 for the whole year, and the values are not pro-rated. Notices are sent to property owners by April 1 each year. When you receive your notice, be sure you agree with it as to the name of the owner, legal description, and the amount of value. If you do not receive a notice from the Assessor regarding the value of your property by April 1, you should contact the Assessor’s office to let them know.

If you have any questions about the assessed value of your property, there is always someone available at the Assessor’s Office 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. to answer questions. All the staff at the Assessor’s Office is well educated, knowledgeable and can help answer your questions.

Property Tax Exemptions

Certain citizens are eligible to apply for property tax exemptions. These include:
  • Veterans who are eligible to deduct $4000 of taxable value
  • Families who can deduct $2000 of value
  • Seniors 65 and over with no more than $21,000 in income who can apply to freeze the property value at a certain level

Exemption Applications

If you qualify to apply for an exemption in one of these categories, applications must be made no later than thirty (30) days after the mailing of the County Assessor's Notice of Valuation (NOV) for which the exemption is to be applied.

Exemption Claiming

If you wish to declare an exemption which is not currently applied, please sign the proper application. Applications must be made no later than 30 days after the mailing of the County Assessor’s Notice of Valuation for which the exemption is to be applied. Possible exemptions are:

  1. Head-of-Family: This exemption may be claimed by any New Mexico Resident for his or her residence, but only one exemption may be claimed for any tax year per household.
  2. Veteran and Disabled Veteran Exemption: Eligibility is determined by the New Mexico Veteran’s Service Commission. To claim, present Certificate of eligibility to Assessor’s Office for Confirmation of exemption declaration. Should you claim this exemption by mail, a notary public must witness your signature on the Notice of Value, then send original Certificate of Eligibility and Notice of Value to the Assessor’s Office. If the exemption was previously claimed and allowed, it shall apply to subsequent years as long as there is no change in eligibility or ownership statue. If you have claimed the exemption with the Motor Vehicle Department, you need to come into the Assessor’s Office and report it, as only the remaining portion of the exemption will be allowed. The principal place of residence occupied by a veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States of America who has a one hundred percent permanent and total service-connected disability or his / her surviving spouse shall be exempt from property taxation. The burden proving eligibility for this exemption is on the person claiming the exemption.
  3. Low Income 65 and over or low income disabled valuation limitation: Applications for valuation limitations may be picked up from the Assessor’s Office. The application is for the current year only and is based on the previous year’s income. The previous year’s modified gross household income must be $21,600 per year or less and the applicant must be disabled or 65 years of age in the year in which the application is made. This application must be filed with the County Assessor each year no later than 30 days after receiving the Notice of Valuation.
  4. Church: To qualify for the exemption the substantial and primary use of the property must be for religious purposes.
  5. Charitable / Educational: To qualify for these exemptions, the substantial and primary use of the property must be for charitable / educational purposes.